Trepidations About Writing

I always thought it would be so difficult to begin a blog. It took me forever to start one. I had been entertaining the idea ever since high school, but every time I signed up for a free blog space, I sat in front of a blank post, hesitant.

All these thoughts swirled around my head. Self doubt. They all said the same thing: You’re not good enough. My life was too boring to blog about. I had nothing profound to say. I wasn’t going to move mountains or change peoples’ lives. My writing was subpar.

All of these thoughts were poison, keeping me from doing something I so desperately wanted to do. I had fear – fear of rejection, of being mediocre, of failing.

I broke that fear by just writing. I just wrote, posted, and pushed back all the anxiety I was feeling at that time.

And it turned out great! I love blogging. It’s just another creative outlet of mine.

But I do have a secret agenda. I started blogging as a way to unblock my mind.

I am, first and foremost, an author (despite the fact I have no published works). Secondly, I am a blogger.

I have close to 60 stories saved on my computer’s hard drive. I have been carting some of them around with me from computer to computer since middle school. None are completed stories. Some of them are only ideas.

I have this problem. I start a story, but I never finish it. Why? It’s more than just writer’s block. It’s those thoughts – the ones that say I’m not good enough – that keep me from writing. It’s the fear that causes long periods of dry spells.

I get an idea that sparks me, creatively, and I begin to write. If I do not get distracted I can write for hours. But the moment I get distract, the doubt starts to creep in. I suddenly feel like what I just wrote is the worst bunch of garbage ever. And then I stop writing. And then I feel defeated.

Fear and anxiety and hesitations and self doubt. All of these things destroy creativity. They squash all desire and self-reassurance. They knock the creativity right out of you. My problem is I do not know how to break through all of this.

I want to be a published author, and I don’t care how I do it. Self-published or with a publishing company, I just want to get my work out there. So it is incredibly frustrating to be staring at a blank piece of paper, thinking you’re not good enough.

Writer’s block is not always a lack of creativity or poor skills. A large part of this mental block is our own self doubt, or our feelings of worthlessness. It’s hard to break past these barriers, but it is just something that has to be done. Like finally plucking up the courage to post that first blog post, so must I not care that my writings might be utter crap, and just write.

I’ve had this idea eating away at me, and in my head I have the whole story plotted out from start to finish. I know every little detail. But when I go to write these words out, nothing comes. And what does is never as good as what was inside my head. Frustrated, I stop. Or I never begin. But I’m sticking with it this time, in slow little increments of a couple sentences every day. I’m not abandoning this idea, not this time.

So, fellow readers, bloggers, and writers, I have a question. No matter what your medium is (drawing, painting, writing, composing music), how do you deal with periods of creative block? What do you do to deal with it, to trudge through it, to overcome it and create something to be proud of? How do you combat the dreaded writer’s block?

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

