Oh My God, I Have The Same Vibrator! We Must Be Best Friends!

Good friends are hard to come by in this world. Best friends are even more elusive. In my 20 years I have had many people who I considered to be very close friends who I do not even talk to anymore.

It’s not like I don’t like having friends, but all my “best” friends have fizzled out and disappeared. For the past year and a half I have considered Emily to be not only my girlfriend but my best friend, my confidant, and someone who I am feel completely comfortable with.

But I did, once upon a time, have a “BFF”, someone who was like a sister to me.

Time for some background info:

When I went to a new school in first grade, I was nervous and scared. I didn’t think I would make any friends. Over the year, I came close friends with Liss (a nickname she would eventually go by). And ever since, we were inseparable.

Until high school, we had every class together, we sat next to each other, I spent half of my childhood at her house. Then we went to different high schools. Then she got a boyfriend. And then we fizzled out. I went away to college, but we had already lost touch by 11th grade. I only saw her maybe once a year from then on.

And then, as my sophomore year of college came to end, I found out one of her family members had died. Feeling terrible about not being there, and with some hesitation, I reinstated communication with Liss. And surprisingly, she didn’t hate me. Which both shocked and elated me.

So when I came home last week I met up with her, so nervous I felt sick. I had changed so much. I had tattoos, piercings, and was openly gay. A thousand thoughts ran through my head. What if she hated me? Thought I was disgusting?

Here’s the low down on best friends:

– even if you haven’t talked in years, you pick up right where you left off

– often, you are friends with someone because you have a lot in common, meaning your best friend is often just like you

– best friends don’t judge

It was like we were never apart. We came back together and we acted like 12 years old again. Except we were grown up. She had a tattoo, she had her nose pierced, she liked Smirnoff and Svedka like me, and she didn’t care that I was gay. In fact, she was excited to meet Emily.

I don’t think I can describe the feeling of reuniting with an old friend. It feels fantastic. And now I had someone to hang out with when I was home. I don’t talk to any of my high school friends anymore and am basically alone whenever I came home to visit. Not now. Now I’ve spent my whole time home at her house.

She was that childhood friend that Emily and I hung out with on our disastrous Monday. We had coffee and chatted. She seemed to really like Emily, which is good considering they are so similar! We had a good time. Then we were driving her to the other side of the mall when she found the new…toys…we had just purchased from Spenser’s and excited exclaimed that she has the same one that I just bought. Best friends have the same vibrators, I guess.

As embarrassing as it may seem, we’re both open and able to make jokes about sex and relationships. Just one more reason we are best friends.

She has officially received the title of “awesome”, according to Emily, who told me that I act like myself around Liss, confident and relaxed. Not like how I am with other friends.

We’ve fallen into our old routine. And it feels like old times again.

So I plan to spend the rest of my week bugging the hell out of Liss and annoying her with my persistent presence. What else are best friend’s for?

So, bitch scouts, best friend are nearly impossible to find. But if you have had one, and have lost contact with that friend, try to reconnect. You might find that it has been the best thing you’ve done in a while. And if you haven’t lost touch with your best friend, appreciate that friendship.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

