You Know What They Say About Mondays…

So yesterday was hell. Absolute hell.

It all started when my girlfriend Emily came to visit me.

She was going to take a train. Her first train was 2 1/2 hours late, so I had to buy her another train ticket for a different train. And then her whole trip down we were arguing over text because she wanted me to come back with her at the end of the day, but I knew I had to stay with my parents a little longer. So when she pulled into the station, we were already angry with each other.

We went to lunch, and that was a disaster.

We were just starting to fix things, when I knocked over my drink. Not a big deal, if the lady in the booth next to us didn’t laugh at us hysterically. Emily already feels like an outsider in my hometown, and this just made her feel terrible. This sparked more arguing. I’m not going to bore you bitches with that was said, but just know that there were a lot of low blows and a lot of talk about breaking up.

But like we always do, we pulled our heads out of our asses and realized we were just stressed and apologized.

We then met my childhood friend for coffee and a chat. Emily’s return train was fast approaching, and we had only spent four hours with each other. She wanted to stay the night, but she couldn’t stay at my house. This is when we had a not-so-brilliant plan.

After cancelling her train ticket we drove over to one of the cheaper hotels in the area where I knew someone who works there. I was so nervous to do this because my parents didn’t know that Emily was visiting and they thought I was with my childhood friend. I would have to lie to them and tell them I was spending the night at my friend’s house. There were too many chances for them to uncover the truth. But I decided to do it anyway. I’m 20. It’s time to do something without having to answer to someone.

If you pay for a room in cash, there also needs to be a $100 deposit on a credit card plus the amount of the room. So at 5:30pm I had to rush around to find a bank to put money on my debit card.

Once that was accomplished, we went to dinner and bought a bunch of overnight stuff from Walmart, then headed back to the hotel. Everything seemed to be finally going right until the woman behind the desk looked at my driver’s license. Now granted, we had told her that we had missed our train and needed a place to stay for the night. She looks at us with a worried face and goes “I can’t sell you a room.”

The world, at that very moment, came crashing down. After questioning why, we discovered that you cannot get a hotel room if you are under 21 years old.

Really? FUCKING REALLY?!

And it wasn’t just that hotel. It was about four different hotel. In fact, it’s a state thing. Most hotels won’t rent a room to anyone under the age of 21…some are even under 25! This is so frustrating to someone who is 7 months away from becoming 21 and who isn’t renting a hotel room to party or fuck around. I was just trying to spend one more night with my girlfriend.

So guess who had to drive 2 hours upstate at 8 o’clock at night? That’s right, me.

Emily’s mom met us on the highway to pick up Emily (embarrassing for her). Then I had to turn around and drive home. Only since I was on a toll road I had to go up an exit and turn around in order to not get charged for the whole length of the thruway. And to top it all off, I got lost while turning around.

When I finally got home at midnight, I was so freaking exhausted. And to top it all off, I kept forgetting things in my car that I didn’t want my parents to find, such as my cigarettes.

Plus, my bed isn’t even comfortable. So I couldn’t even KO for the night.

Moral of the story, bitches: being 20 sucks. Homophobic family members suck. Shitty luck sucks. For once, I just want everything to work out when Emily and I have plans. Just once.

Leave a Reply

