Softball Is Like Heroine To Lesbians

At least, for this lesbian couple it is. I was never a big softball fan until I met Emily, who used to play softball. She LOVES this sport. Now, we watch it on ESPN-U every freakin’ night.

I’m not complaining. Out of all the sports I have to say I actually enjoy softball immensely. And it is such a stereotypical lesbian sport how could I not?!

Currently we are watching the Woman’s College World Series. And it’s down to the wire. Oklahoma University versus University of Alabama. Best two out of three and game 2 is on tonight. And we are rooting for Alabama!!

Now, I know what you’re thinking. We’re New Yorkers, who lives in New York. Why are we rooting for an Alabama softball team?

Good question.

It all started when Emily and I were watching the SEC tournament, which is basically the prelude to the semifinals of the WCWS. It’s all a NCAA softball division thing. Emily fell in love with Alabama’s Crimson Tide (I know, I laughed the first time I heard their softball team’s name, too. It’s alright, get it out of your system). I’m not sure why, probably because she’s crushing on half of the players, but she picked that team and said to me: “They are gonna go all the way.”

She was right. They are now battling for the championship title. So I guess she picked a good team. But her love of the Alabama softball team has grown on me, and now I am hoping that they win the series, too! Emily even bought us jerseys. We’re dorks, I know.

On another note, no East Coast teams made it to the WCWS, and no sport’s network around here broadcasts New England softball games. It’s a bummer. Maybe when I transfer colleges we’ll have a NY college team to root for. So until then, we may be the only people on the whole East Coast rooting for Alabama in the WCWS, but we are and we’re damn proud!

So if anyone follows college softball, hopefully you’re rooting for the Crimson Tide! If not, that’s okay too. I guess we’ll still like you. As long as you like softball we can still be friends.

So batter up, bitch scouts. And watch the WCWS of softball on ESPN-U!!

Roll Tide Roll!

P.S. Our favorite players are Kaila Hunt (infielder and “damn sexy” according to Emily)and Jackie Traina (probably the best damn pitcher you’ve ever seen. Here comes the J-Train!).

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Softball Is Like Heroine To Lesbians

Leave a Reply

